ANU Tuition Fees for International Students: Course-by-Course and How to Plan Four Years of It

8 min read

ANU does not set one tuition price for every international student. The official pricing chain runs from the program or course to its field of education and award level, then to an international student fee band. The band determines the 2027 fee for a 48-unit annual load. Additional or separately listed charges, including the student services and amenities fee, must be considered separately.

What an ANU tuition figure means

ANU states that all fees are subject to annual reviews and indexation and may increase during a student’s studies. A published figure is therefore specific to its stated year. The amounts in the 2027 Schedule of Tuition Fees describe 2027 charges; they do not establish the fees for 2028 or later.

The schedule prices international tuition in two related ways: as a fee for 48 units and as a fee per unit. The per-unit figure is rounded to the nearest $10, so it should not replace the separately published 48-unit amount when constructing an annual budget.

Indicative international program fees and fees for individual courses are published on ANU’s Programs and Courses website. The schedule supplies the disciplinary band structure and headline amounts, while the program and course pages provide the more granular information needed for a course-by-course budget.

How courses are assigned to international bands

The allocation can vary by award level. In the 2027 schedule, the international columns distinguish undergraduate, postgraduate and higher degree by research classifications.

Natural and Physical Sciences, excluding course classification 019901, is assigned to Band 4 at undergraduate, postgraduate and higher degree by research levels. Information Technology and Engineering and Related Technologies are also Band 4 across all three levels. Agriculture, Environmental and Related Studies is likewise Band 4 across these levels.

Health, excluding 0601, varies by level: Band 4 for undergraduate study, Band 3 for postgraduate study and Band 5 for higher degree by research study. Medical Studies and Medical Science, classifications 0601 and 019901, are assigned to Band 6 at all three levels.

Education is Band 1 for undergraduate and higher degree by research study and Band 3 for postgraduate study. Management and Commerce, including the Master of Business Administration, is Band 4 for undergraduate study, Band 4 for postgraduate study and Band 3 for higher degree by research study.

The general Society and Culture classification, excluding 0901, 0909, 0919 and 0907, follows the Education pattern: Band 1 for undergraduate and higher degree by research study and Band 3 for postgraduate study. The excluded classifications have their own allocations. Political Science and Policy Studies, 0901, is Band 3 for undergraduate study and Band 4 for postgraduate and higher degree by research study. Behavioural Science, 0907, is Band 4, Band 5 and Band 5 respectively. Law, 0909, is Band 3 for undergraduate study and Band 4 for postgraduate and higher degree by research study. Juris Doctor under 0909 is separately identified, with an international Band 6 entry. Economics and Econometrics, 0919, is Band 4 for undergraduate study, Band 4 for postgraduate study and Band 3 for higher degree by research study. Creative Arts is Band 1 across all three levels.

Coursework courses taken as part of a research program are charged at the relevant coursework rate. This matters when a research enrollment contains coursework components rather than a single classification for the whole program.

International band costs for 2027

For a 48-unit full-time-equivalent load, the 2027 international tuition amounts are:

  • Band 1: $47,940, with a displayed fee of $1,000 per unit.
  • Band 2: $51,170, with a displayed fee of $1,070 per unit.
  • Band 3: $54,540, with a displayed fee of $1,140 per unit.
  • Band 4: $57,640, with a displayed fee of $1,200 per unit.
  • Band 5: $60,870, with a displayed fee of $1,270 per unit.
  • Band 6: $64,130, with a displayed fee of $1,340 per unit.

All six per-unit figures are rounded to the nearest $10. The 48-unit amount is the more suitable starting point for comparing full-time-equivalent plans within the 2027 schedule. It is not, by itself, a four-year total.

Programs and charges listed outside the bands

The 2027 schedule separately records several fees that should not be read as ordinary Band 1–6 tuition amounts.

For the Doctor of Medicine and Surgery (MChD), the 2027 international fee is $102,340 per 48 units. The schedule expressly excludes MChD from the relevant disciplinary band and includes it in the other tuition fees table.

The 2027 international charge for the Higher Doctorates excluding Medicine—Doctor of Laws, Doctor of Letters and Doctor of Science—is $1,900. ANU describes this as a flat-rate, non-refundable administration and examination charge. It is not presented as a per-48-unit band fee.

For the Doctor of Medicine (MD), the 2027 international charge is $4,210, also described as a flat-rate, non-refundable administration and examination charge. The MD charge is distinct from the separately listed MChD fee, while the Medical Studies and Medical Science classification is assigned to Band 6.

The 2027 schedule also contains two international Study Abroad entries. The nominated-sponsor Study Abroad line is $14,720 per 24 units and is described as a flat fee charged to nominated sponsors per semester. The Partner Institutions line is $13,370 per 24 units. ANU’s international tuition page separately cautions that fees for students enrolled in Study Abroad may vary.

These figures should remain distinct in a budget. A band-based annual tuition figure, a per-unit study-abroad charge and a flat administration or examination charge describe different billing components.

SSAF and ANUHub invoicing

International students are required to pay the Services and Amenities Fee, also known as the student services and amenities fee, or SSAF. ANU explains that SSAF relates to non-academic services. The fee may support areas such as sporting and recreational activities, employment and career advice, childcare, financial advice and food services.

All student cohorts must pay SSAF, although payment may be deferred to a later date in some eligible cases. The cited SSAF page does not state a 2027 dollar amount, so no 2027 SSAF figure should be inserted into the band totals from the tuition schedule alone. The applicable SSAF information sheet and invoice should be checked instead.

ANU says international students are issued an invoice through ANUHub for each semester or session in which they enrol. Changes to course enrolment may lead to additional invoices, and each invoice must be paid by its relevant payment deadline. The international fees page does not state that SSAF is always issued as a separate ANUHub invoice, so it should not be represented as a distinct per-session charge without checking the invoice and applicable information.

Students who are sponsored and have registered their sponsor with the Enrolments and Fees Office receive the invoice directly from the sponsor. A personal budget should therefore distinguish the student’s academic plan from the party responsible for payment.

Building a four-year plan without forecasting

Begin with the intended program and its course sequence, not with the university-wide Band 4 amount. Check the indicative program fee and individual course fees on Programs and Courses. Then classify each course by field and award level, noting coursework components in research programs, and apply the corresponding international band.

For each enrolment year, retrieve the schedule for that year and record the applicable band again. The 2027 amounts can populate a 2027 column. Later columns should remain marked for the applicable year’s schedule rather than repeating the 2027 figure. All ANU fees are subject to annual review and indexation, so multiplying one year’s tuition by four would not produce a supported four-year total.

The unit load belongs in every calculation. For a stated-year planning worksheet, the 2027 48-unit amount can be scaled in proportion to the planned unit load by dividing the published per-unit amount by the corresponding unit load. The displayed per-unit fees are rounded, and ANU calculates particular student tuition and contribution amounts under its costs and fees guidelines. Individual course information and the resulting invoice therefore remain more authoritative than a worksheet reconstruction.

If enrolment load changes, recalculate the tuition base and allow for the additional ANUHub invoice that ANU says may be issued. A lower load reduces the units used in the calculation; a higher load increases them. The 2027 schedule alone does not establish how a later-year load will be priced.

Keep separate worksheet lines for SSAF and any applicable separately priced MChD, MD, Higher Doctorate or Study Abroad charge. The schedule provides no exchange rate, so it cannot support a future currency conversion. Any exchange-rate calculation must remain separate from ANU’s fee schedule and be rechecked when an amount becomes payable.

Finally, align the plan with ANUHub invoice periods and payment deadlines, then repeat the review for each enrolment year. Sponsored students should also confirm that their sponsor is registered with the Enrolments and Fees Office.

What to check before you apply

Re-read ANU’s International tuition fees page for the current schedule links, annual-review policy and semester or session invoicing arrangements. Check the Schedule of Tuition Fees applicable to the intended year, then use Programs and Courses for indicative program fees and individual course fees. Review the Services and Amenities Fee page and information sheet for the applicable amount and payment timing, and consult ANU’s costs and fees guidelines when calculating a particular student amount. Recheck these official pages closer to the intended intake and before each later enrolment year.